National Employment Standards

As a first step in modernising Australia’s awards the Government has released the new National Employment Standards (NES) (pdf).

The NES will come into effect on 1 January 2010.

The NES will apply to all employees in the Federal system regardless of industry, occupation or income.

The NES cover:

  1. Maximum weekly hours of work
  2. Request for flexible working arrangements
  3. Parental leave and related entitlements
  4. Annual leave
  5. Personal/Carer’s leave and compassionate leave
  6. Community service leave
  7. Long service leave
  8. Public holidays
  9. Notice of termination and redundancy pay
  10. Fair Work Information Statement
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Your Compliance Support Plan

We understand you need a cost-effective way to keep up to date with regulatory changes. Talk to us about our fixed price plans.