Mortgage duty update

Currently Victoria, Tasmania, ACT, NT, Queensland and Western Australia have no mortgage duty.

South Australia will abolish mortgage duty on 1 July 2009.

After 1 July 2009 NSW will be the only state with mortgage duty.

In New South Wales, mortgage duty has already been abolished on owner occupied housing and investment housing. But the abolition of the remaining mortgage duty has been deferred until 1 July 2012.

The recent 2009-10 NSW Budget proposes removing the distinction between limited and unlimited mortgages and requiring production for up-stamping each time a further advance is made.

Changes are also proposed for the stamping of multi-jurisdiction mortgages in NSW.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Your Compliance Support Plan

We understand you need a cost-effective way to keep up to date with regulatory changes. Talk to us about our fixed price plans.